About Us

Supporting Local Students

Established in 1997, the Saratoga Springs Rotary Education Foundation is a tax-exempt
organization that raises funds to support the post-secondary education and vocational
training of graduates from public and private high schools in the greater Saratoga community.
Graduates of Saratoga Springs High School, Saratoga Central Catholic High School, and the
Waldorf School of Saratoga Springs have received scholarships.

Significant Scholarships

The Foundation awards funds each year to the Saratoga Springs Rotary Club for the Club’s scholarship program. Since 1989, when the Club first began awarding $50 bond certificates as scholarships, the value has grown significantly, to its present award minimum of $2,500. In recent years, the Foundation has provided annually over $70,000 for scholarships given to approximately one dozen students attending four-year and two-year colleges as well as vocational programs. Click below to read an example of our Scholarship Awards.

A Goal for the Future

Each year, the Foundation receives funds from both the Saratoga Springs Rotary Club and private donors. The Foundation has surpassed its initial goal of raising $1 million in endowed funds, ensuring scholarships in perpetuity for local students.

The organization’s major fundraiser is its annual scholarship awards brunch and honoring community leaders and educators.

Professional Investment Management

The Foundation’s endowment is managed by The Adirondack Trust Company of Saratoga Springs. Excluding expenses, all donations received go toward awarded scholarships or building the endowment, at an average rate of 85 cents for every dollar. The Foundation’s Board Members volunteer their time and services.

MEET THE Board of Directors


Michael Piccirillo, President | Joyce Ure, Vice President |
Joe Equale, Treasurer | Anna Jolly Duval, Secretary |
Scott Whittemore, Assistant Treasurer


Karl Broekhuizen | James E. Doern | Amanda Duff | Gregory Grieco |
John Herrick | Thomas Kent | Stephen Kyne | Sara Miga | Susan Moore-Palumbo |
Beth Post | Donald McPherson | Susan Rhoades | Robert Schermerhorn | Janice White

Directors Emeriti:

Edward A. Lenz | Walter Sankowski |Stephen Sullivan | Jane Adams Wait

Endowed Scholarships

In honor of, In memory of, or given by:

Florence Andresen
James & Carryl Cudney
Philly Dake
Hal & Cindy Gerow and John & Lynn McLuckie
Scott Krulcik

Don Lee
Edward A Lenz
Joseph & Anne Palamountain
G.H. Pierce
Alfred Z Solomon Charitable Trust

Charles V Wait Sr.
Jane Adams Wait
Newman “Pete” Wait
William C Young